Data Visualization

March 11, 2011 § 4 Comments

I collected data points for one week comparing the amount of time I spend working and in class to the amount of time spent watching online TV and playing video games. I calculated the amount of time I spent in each class, as well as which online TV shows I watched the most and which video games I played the most. For each hour I spent performing one of the tasks listed above I added one point of font size to the word data visualization piece. Therefore, the words that are the largest are the ones I spend the most time doing. For example, I spent 31 hours at work and 6 hours playing video games, therefore “Employee” and “Work” are much larger than “video games.”

I then collected data from 19 of my peers to compare the amount of time they spend working, in class, watching online TV and playing video games to my own. I took an average of the information they gave me and created a word data visualization with the classes they are in, shows they watch and games they play the most.  As the word visualization shows most students are in history and English classes and they play video games the least.

Under each word data visualization there is a pie chart to help make the data as clear as possible. Throughout my research I found that the amount of time I spend at work is higher than those of my peers (relative to the amount of time spent doing all four.) However, my peers spend more time in classes then I do. The amount of time spent watching TV and playing video games is relatively the same when comparing the time I spend doing them to the time my peers do.

JulianneRoweDataVisualization

§ 4 Responses to Data Visualization

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Data Visualization at Julianne Rowe's Blog.

meta

