20 Sources

November 14, 2010 § 4 Comments

While conducting my research, I found the best search engine for my topic was Google’s advanced search. I was able to use connector words such as “and,” “or,” and “not,” which helped narrow down the amount of hits I received. The second best option in the Google’s advanced search was the restriction of the domain to “.gov,” “.edu,” or “.org.”  Without restricting the domain, I would have gotten too many hits, and most of which were not have been relevant sources.

The second best search engine that worked best for me was LexisNexis. After restricting my search criteria to The Oregonian or to The Register Guard, I was able to only search for articles from Oregon, which helped me obtain fewer but more resourceful hits. I also used the search engine on Oregonlive.com (The Oregonian’s official site) which is updated daily, so I was able to find the most recent and relevant articles. Just hours after measure 73 passed I was able to find articles relating to the approved measure.

One of the search tools that did not work as well for me was EBSCO Host. I found that their site was not updated as often as I needed it to be for my topic, which made it hard to find sources. Many of the gateway class links on the UO library site did not cover my public policy issue, which made many of them useless for my particular topic.

While conducting my research, I found many articles and documents that will help me with my final project. I feel much more knowledgeable about my topic then I did at the beginning of the term. I have learned a lot about the recession Oregon is currently experiencing, and understand how the legislator would have a difficult time dealing with the financial budget. I feel very confident about my topic, and I am looking forward to incorporating the information I have learned into the rest of my projects for the term.

jrowe Sources Final

Tagged: , ,

§ 4 Responses to 20 Sources

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 20 Sources at Julianne Rowe's Blog.

meta

